The Life of a Dancer

The Life of a Dancer

Dance, dance, dance. To you it might just seem like some random body movements while music is playing. But to me it’s so much more. For me, dance is a way I can express myself without talking. It’s a way to find myself and lose myself at the same time. It’s a way to forget all the crap going on in my life and focus on how my body moves to the music playing.

I’ve been dancing since I was in 2nd grade, keep in mind I’m going to be a senior this year…dance has definitely changed me so much. It’s made me more confident of who I am and taken away any anxiety I had about doing anything in front of a group of people. My first year dancing, I was nervous as can be. I didn’t want to go on that stage where so many people could see me. Now? Well now I look forward to that adrenaline rush that comes when I get onstage and the music starts playing.

Last year I went through one of the toughest situations I could ever imagine. I injured my arm doing gymnastics and ended up getting surgery. I couldn’t cheer and I literally felt like my world was falling apart. But then I would get to dance class and everything would be okay. Because while I couldn’t cheer due to injury, I would still go to dance class and do as much as I could. Dance made everything okay again, at least for a little while.

Okay, has anyone ever saw the movie Step Up 3? That is probably my favorite movie of all time (and not just because of the hot guys). Like Moose says in the movie, “I dance because dance can change things”, that is one of the big reasons why I do what I do. Moose says that one move can do so much. Michael Jackson influenced so many people with his dancing. You won’t believe how many dancer accounts I’m following on Twitter who will say that he’s their biggest inspiration. To be completely 100% honest, I barely even knew who Michael Jackson was until this year. I knew he was a singer, I knew he passed away some years ago, and I knew of some of his songs. But up until this year, I didn’t realize how amazing of a dancer he was. This year, my hip hop class danced a Michael Jackson tribute. We danced to Beat It, Bad, Billie Jean, and Thriller. To figure out how I was going to incorporate my own style into these dances, I did some research and watched the videos to these songs and some others and all I can say is wow. Michael Jackson truly was an amazing dancer. I cannot wait for my recital tomorrow because this dance is going to be so great dancing to such great songs.

Even though rehearsals and recitals are probably the most stressful times of the year, it helps to know that all of my hard work as a dancer will finally pay off that night. Tomorrow is my recital, the last one before I am a senior. I plan to dance in the future, at college and possibly even getting a part time job at a dance studio, and I know that no matter what I will always have dance.

To quote Moose from Step Up 3, “People dance because dance can change things. One move can bring people together. One move can make you believe like there’s something more. One move can set a whole generation free.”

-xox, dalg98

Leave a Reply

