We Aren’t a Team, We’re a FAMILY

We Aren’t a Team, We’re a FAMILY

Hey guys!! So today I wanted to tell you a bit about my cheer life and everything. Oh, and also, the next book recommendation should be up in a day or two so keep an eye out for that!

I have been cheering since I was in kindergarten. Clearly it has always been a huge part of my life. I fell in love with the sport that very first Future Cheer clinic. The very first time I got to go up in an elevator, I never wanted to come down. I hate being the center of attention, but when I’m at the top of a stunt, it feels different.

I am now going into senior year, my last year cheering in high school. Unfortunately I won’t be able to cheer in college due to a past injury, so I’m going to enjoy my last year as much as possible. The girls on my cheer team I have been around pretty much my entire life. They are my closest friends and I love them to infinity and beyond. They’ve seen me at my worst and at my best. They’ve been there to make me smile when I’m crying, to bring me up when I am down, to encourage me and push me to my limits.

I have also had the same cheer coach since kindergarten. She’s pushed me to my limits as well. She has been there through literally everything. Coach has seen me grow up and is basically a second mom to each one of us. For all of you other cheerleaders who say your coach is the best, clearly you haven’t met ours. Our cheer coach does so much for us. She takes us to cheer camp, she makes sure the coolers are stocked with gatorade for the football players and us before each and every football game, she comes up with the rounds for competitions. She’s literally superwoman.

Also, our cheer team is so close. Like, we know everything about each other. We’re all sisters and we know that if someone tries to mess with us, they’re gonna have to go through 13 others to get to us. We stick by each others side through thick and thin. Through won and lost football games. Through tough competitions. I’ve never met a team as stuck together as ours.

For all my senior cheer sisters, I am super happy I’ve gotten the chance to be one of you for these last however many years. I’m glad I have you guys to base and backspot me, both figuratively and literally. You guys literally are the best. Miranda – thanks for always being a crazy dork and making me laugh. Shelby – thanks for sticking by my side and believing in me. Bre – my shorty twin, I love you to infinity and beyond and I couldn’t imagine my life if we had never became friends in 8th grade. Rachel – oh goodness. You are probably the best backspot/friend someone could ask for. I know I always have you to back me up and catch me when I fall. Kelsea – chica, I can’t put it all into words. You’re more than my best friend, you’re almost like my sister. Ashleigh – even though we only met last year, I feel like we’ve been friends forever. You’re the only other person I know who loves Austin Mahone like me. You’re my twin!! We’ve grown to become such great friends and thanks for always believing me and having faith in me.

For my other cheer sisters, you all are going to grow to be amazing cheerleaders but I know you’ll also become great women as well. I hope you all know that you can literally come to me with anything and I’ll be there for you. And also, I will come back after I graduate to see you all, don’t think I’m not going to!! I love you all.

To my coaches, you two are amazing people. I couldn’t ask for better cheer coaches. I am glad I have you two to push me to the breaking point and beyond. I’m glad that you guys care so much for not only me, but for all of us. Thank you both for being there for me when I was injured and being just as excited for me when I could come back.

Cheerleading isn’t like other sports. While in others, all you have to worry about dropping is the ball, we have a living being up in the air. For all you who say cheerleading isn’t a sport, I dare you to try it sometime. And I don’t mean stand there and yell and cheer for the football team, I mean stunt and do gymnastics and compete. Then tell me how easy it is.

Okay guys that’s all for today! My next post should be your regular scheduled book recommendation! Thanks for reading and make sure to follow me on all my social media: Twitter – @lifeofateenchik and @Hey_im_Dallas and Instagram: @Dallas_G98! Also, you can check me out on Latinitas!!!! Until next time lovelies!!!!!

-xox, dalg98

Leave a Reply

