October BOO!k Recommendation (See what I did there?)

October BOO!k Recommendation (See what I did there?)

Hey guys! A new month, we all know what that means, BOOK REVIEW!!! Since school started I’ve not had as much time as I would like to read, but I still get some extra time I can use to immerse myself into fantasy worlds that I quite honestly would rather live in.

When I was in fourth grade I read the entire Harry Potter series. It was this big deal considering the books were like the thickest book in our elementary school library. I remember when I finished they announced it to the whole school over the announcements and everyone looked at me and ugh, I wanted to die I was so embarrassed. I mean I’m sure everyone thought I was like some giant nerd (“Oh my god did you hear she read the entire series? What a nerd!”) but I was pretty proud of myself.

That was in fourth grade. I am now a senior. So I decided I was going to read the series all over again. It started when I was on Pintrest and looking at the book section and all of these Harry Potter references came up and I couldn’t remember a lot of them. Then my brother was like ‘bet you I can finish the books first’ and I knew I had to take a trip down memory lane and step out of the muggle world for a while.

I forgot how much I LOVED those books. And now that I’m older I understand more of what’s going on. Harry Potter has literally consumed my life. I love everything Harry Potter based. I’m not even joking. For Christmas I’m asking for a shirt that says ‘Straight Outta Azkaban’……I’m also trying to convince my family to go to Universal Studios in Orlando instead of Disney for spring break so we can go to Harry Potter World. Obsessed I tell you! I spend more of my time thinking about Harry Potter than I do thinking about things happening in the real world….what? There’s a football game tonight? I was too busy thinking about Hogwarts to realize.

Anyways, if you don’t know (and if you don’t there’s something wrong with you, these books have been around forever) Harry Potter is about this orphan kid named Harry (wow Dallas you don’t say!) who finds out that he’s a wizard and goes to the wizarding school of Hogwarts. He faces incredible challenges and they all start when he’s only 11. Not only does Harry face a mountain troll in the first book ‘The Sorcerer’s Stone’, he also faces Lord Voldemort, the dark wizard who attempted to murder Harry when he was a child and murdered Harry’s parents. In the second book ‘The Chamber of Secrets’ Harry again faces the Dark Lord, this time though, his younger self. In the third book, ‘The Prisoner of Azkaban’, Harry must escape from danger, but not from who he expects (I can’t say more or I’ll ruin the book). While dealing with feelings for a girl (even The Boy Who Lived has feelings, come on) Harry must take part in the Tri-Wizard Tournament in the next installment in the series: ‘The Goblet of Fire’ and he again faces Lord Voldemort. ‘The Order of the Phoenix’ follows Harry in his fifth year at Hogwarts. The Ministry of Magic does not believe Harry when he says that the Dark Lord has returned but he is determined to prove it. Harry yet again battles Voldemort in this book. Moving on to sixth year, (‘The Half-Blood Prince’) which is the book I just finished, Harry and Headmaster Dumbledore work together to try and defeat Voldemort through the memories Dumbledore has collected from others. Harry does not directly face Voldemort, but he does have to battle with Voldemort’s followers who call themselves Death Eaters. This is probably my favorite book from the series as it is the one with the most romance. And that’s all I’m going to say on that. Go read the book if you want to know more! In the final Harry Potter book, ‘The Deathly Hallows’, Harry, Ron, and Hermione adventure out to defeat Voldemort and eventually face him back at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

The Harry Potter series is probably my favorite out of all the series I’ve read. These books transport me to a whole different world that I wish I could live in. I’ve laughed and cried through all of these books and they will forever be my favorites. If you haven’t read this series I definitely suggest you do soon. And if you’ve watched the movies, read the books still because like every movie version of a book, things get left out. Like in the movie adaption of ‘The Goblet of Fire’, it isn’t mentioned where the Weasley twins get the money to fund their joke shop. I thought that was a really important part of the book and not one word was said.

Well guys, that’s all I have for today! Hopefully you take my advice and read these books if you haven’t yet. I’m almost done with the series myself and am dreading going back to the muggle world. Until next time!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter: @Hey_im_Dallas

Instagram: @Dallas_G98

Leave a Reply

