Being a senior

Being a senior

Hey guys! Sorry it’s been a while! With school and everything I haven’t had a lot of time to just sit down and blog. But I’ll try and get better, I promise. 

Friday night was the last football game of the season. My last high school football game. The last time I’d take the track to cheer on the boys. The last time I’d hold the sign for the team to run through. The last time for pushups after a touchdown. It’s pretty depressing. Like I’m getting sad just thinking about it. But I cried enough after the game on Friday and I really don’t want to cry again right now so I’m really going to try and hold back the waterworks. 

So it’s a tradition at my school for the senior football players and the senior cheerleaders to hold hands and walk all the way from one end of the football field to the other. Last year it seemed like that day would never come. But it finally did. And part of me wishes it didn’t.

Let me just tell you something about the St. Charles Class of 2016: we have a love/hate relationship. We might not all be best friends, but we have each other’s backs if needed. And that was shown on that football field last Friday night.

Normally everyone leaves like maybe 10 minutes after the seniors walk. A few pictures are taken. Some tears are shed. Hugs go around. Nope, not my class. We were there for at least an hour after the game. We were pretty much all crying. Our eyes were all red and puffy. Not just because we lost the game, but because it was an emotional night. This was the last time the senior cheerleaders would cheer on the senior football players. Next year we’ll all be off at college or whatever we plan on doing after we graduate. We might come back for a game or two, but it’ll never be the same.

I didn’t lose it until some of the football players came up to the cheerleaders and hugged each of us like we were a part of the team. I mean, I guess in a way we sort of are, but it’s never really shown. Like, yeah we are at every game. We support the boys through wins and losses. We handle equipment and pack gatorades for after the away games. And we know that the boys appreciate everything we do for them. But Friday night when the guys were all crying and came up to hug us girls, everything I had bottled up exploded out. And once I started crying I couldn’t stop.

I cried when I was walking. I cried when my friend Bre wanted to stop on the 50 yard line because she didn’t want it to be over. I cried when my locker buddies hugged me. I cried when the other cheerleaders hugged me. I cried when my parents hugged me. I cried when my coach told me my senior stunt (a lib (on one foot way up in the air) and a twist cradle) was amazing. I cried when I got home. I was a mess.

It’s so weird to think that we will be graduating soon. Like it seems like just yesterday I was walking into kindergarten and meeting my best friend, Kelsea. It seems like just yesterday we were at our first day of middle school and I was scared I was going to get lost because I’m so short compared to everyone else. It seems like just yesterday I had high school orientation.

I will never ever forget that night. I’m not even joking. I’ll like, be in my dorm next year and see pictures from it on FaceBook and just just start bawling. 

When I started high school, it seemed like 2016 was ages away. It seemed like I’d never be ordering my cap and gown or getting my senior pictures taken. It seemed like I’d always be a tiny freshman at the bottom of the food chain. Now that it’s getting so close, I wish time would stop. Or at least slow down. When I first saw High School Musical 3: Senior Year, I couldn’t wait for that to be me. I couldn’t wait to throw my cap in the air and receive my diploma. I still am super excited to graduate and move on, but I kind of wish time would slow down.

To all the underclassmen who may be reading this, don’t take high school for granted. Time might seem like it’s dragging on but it goes so fast. You might think that you cannot wait to get out of school and get away from people you’ve been around your whole life, but you’re going to miss it. You’re going to miss seeing the same faces every day. You’re going to miss those who can make you smile even when you don’t want to. You’re going to miss seeing your best friend every day.

But let me just tell you underclassmen, that math test that you bombed freshman year isn’t going to count in the long run. Who you sit by in the lunchroom isn’t going to matter when you’re in college. Just hold on the the frienships you make. The memories you create. Because those things can’t be don over. And also, don’t think that your senior year is a blow off year because it’s not. Don’t think that it’s okay to fail a class because it’s an easy class. Colleges are going to be looking at everything you do senior year. And junior year as well. So don’t be afraid to take hard classes. Don’t be afraid to sign up for some AP classes or harder math classes. From my experience so far, my AP class is getting me ready for college. And I’m happy with that.
Okay guys, that’s all I have for today! I hope you liked this post and I hope you take something from it. If anyone from STC is reading this, any seniors, I hope you guys know that I couldn’t ask for better people to grow up with. I couldn’t ask for better classmates to be by my side through this last year of high school. You guys are the best.

Until next time!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter: @Hey_im_Dallas

Instagram: @Dallas_G98

Leave a Reply

