Colorado Springs Shooting

Colorado Springs Shooting

Yes, I realize this is sort of old news and I realize that at this moment, everyone is focusing on the shooting in California. But I’m going to write about it anyways because I have some things to say.
As you may or may not know, Friday Nov. 27 a man by the name of Robert Deer went on a shooting spree at a Planned Parenthood building in Colorado Springs. He didn’t give up until after having shot and killed three people. One of which was a police officer, with a family I might add, and the other two both parents of young children.

As you know (or maybe you don’t) my dad’s a cop. He goes to work every day and doesn’t know if something will happen – like this – and he won’t come home. I cannot imagine if this were to happen in Michigan and it were my dad, or my uncle, or any other police officer that I know who was a victim. I don’t even want to think about it.

When it first happened, when that officer was first shot and killed, it definitely was a big deal. Everyone knew about it and was felt some emotion towards the death. But do we hear any more about that officer who lost his life? Nope. We hear about the sentance this crazy lunatic with a gun got, he’s everywhere. On every news website and all over social media. But no more word about the officer. No word about how his family is holding up. No word about him at all. We never really hear anything about the police force unless it’s bad. Everyone has heard about that officer in South Carolina who flung the girl out of her desk and threw her across the room. But no one knows anything about the officers who bought that kid in Memphis a new XBox after his was stolen in a burglary? The kid said that his mom couldn’t get him a new one for Christmas because all the money she makes pays the bills so these officers chipped in and bought this 11 year old boy a brand new one plus games. But we don’t hear about that kind of stuff. Nope, only the bad parts. Police officers, like the one in the South Carolina incident, are the officers that ruin the reputations of cops all over the country. It seems like for every ten bad-cop stories, there’s maybe one good-cop story. I hate it. Police officers do so much for people it’s crazy. They put their own lives on the line to save others. They’re superheros without capes. Everyday my dad goes to work, there’s a possibility he won’t come home. Same for every other person who puts that badge on every day. But they do it anyways.
From a Catholic view point, I’m also going to mention the fact that this shooting took place at a Planned Parenthood clinic. I’m sure everyone reading this knows that Planned Parenthood offers abortion services. As a Catholic I am 100 percent against that. I think it’s wrong on so many levels. Let me just tell you that from the moment of conception, that is a human being in a woman’s womb. It’s not just a blob of cells. IT’S A HUMAN. How come people don’t consider the babies humans when their in their mother’s stomach, but still sell their parts? Clearly it’s not just a glob of cells if you’re getting body parts….I don’t know, that just never added up for me. Anyways, this Robert Deer guy was apparently super anti-abortion. I mean when he was finally caught he did say ‘no more baby parts’ to investigators. But just tell me how, in this crazy man’s mind, shooting AND KILLING the people who kill babies makes any sense at all. You might think you’re saving the babies, but you’re killing people too and that, Mr. Deer makes you a huge hypocrite.

Also, everyone’s making a big deal that this shooting took place where it did. But they don’t seem to make such a big deal when Planned Parenthood is offering it’s services. When innocent infants are not allowed a chance at life. Every year I attend the March for Life because I believe that everyone deserves a chance at life. I mentioned in a previous blog post that for every like, three people there should have been a fourth person who isn’t here because of abortion. Imagine if that was you. Or imagine next time you’re with family or friends how different your life would be if one of those people never existed. Abortion is no  joke but murdering people isn’t either. 
Another important thing that was pointed out to me, when there was a terrorist attack in France, people everywhere had a French flag as their Facebook profile. But there was just a shooting in California and no one has a California flag as their profile pic. It’s dumb. I’d change mine if giving the chance. I just think it’s stupid becuase it seems like something that happened in a different country is affecting us more than something that happened where we live. 

Okay. That’s all I’m going to say for today. I hope that now you know where I stand on all of these recent attacks and especially the Colorado Springs on. I may live in Michigan but news can spread pretty far.

Until next time peeps!

-xox, dalg98

Leave a Reply

