Happy 2016!!

Happy 2016!!

What’s up everyone I’m back with my first blog post of the new year!! It’s finally 2016 and I’m so excited to see waht the year will bring me.

When I was younger 2016 seemed like it was millions of years away. I thought I’d never graduate high school and move on to college. Now that the year is finally here, it seemed like it all happened so fast. I feel like it was just yesterday I was starting middle school. Like I had just turned 14. Now I’m going to be 18 in like five months.

There really wasn’t anything that happened in 2015 that really stood out to me. I mean, Austin Mahone followed me on Twitter so that was cool. And I started blogging and fell in love with it so that’s great. But other than that I can’t really think of anything super exciting. 

There were a lot of firsts that happened last year (it feels kind of weird saying that). I uploaded my first YouTube video, started my first blog, did my first internship, took my first college class, and went to prom for the first time. 2015 started up a lot of things that will stick with me in the upcoming year. 

But a lot of lasts happened as well. My last time as a sideline cheerleader, my last first day of high school, my last football/cheer banquet, my last cheer camp, my last homecoming dance, and my last first dance class. All of these things made me realize that time goes by so insanely fast. You can’t take any moment for granted because one day you won’t have any time left. You need to do what scares you, step out of your comfort zone, and don’t let anyone tear you down. 

If there was one lesson I learned in 2015, it was to do what you love and not care what anyone else thinks. I was terrified to upload my own video onto YouTube. I was scared that my dance skills just weren’t good enough and that if anyone that I knew saw it, they’d never let me live it down. But you know what? I took the risk anyways. I posted it. And guess how many views I have on that video now? 704. In nine months. That’s kind of a lot in my book. And people from school did see it. But they didn’t make fun of me for it. They complimented me. They told me my dancing skills were amazing. And now I’m not scared anymore. I mean I’ve been too busy to post another video but I will. You can bet that there will be another dance video out soon.

2015 wasn’t exceptionally amazing. But it wasn’t horrible either. And I have this feeling that 2016 is going to be better. Maybe because I’m graduating. Maybe because there’s just so much to look forward to. Either way, I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me. 

-xox, dalg98

Leave a Reply

