An Open Letter to my Little Brother

An Open Letter to my Little Brother

Hey bro!    The day I found out I was going to be a big sister was the best day. Because I’d finally have someone to boss around? Eh, probably. But also because I’d finally have someone to hang out with.

    The day finally came! Late at night we drove to the hospital. A few hours later…you were here! Only, I didn’t get to see you right away. And there was a possibility you weren’t going to make it. But you fought and proved them wrong. And I got my baby brother.

    Some days later we got to bring you home. I held you for the first time. I gave you your bottle for the first time. Mom even tells me that I called you ‘my baby’ and I thought you were mine.

    When you got a little older you started copying me. You followed me around. You did what I did. It was annoying. Sometimes I just wanted to be alone but you were always right there, following my every footstep.

    Now that we’re older, I’ve realized how much you’ve changed my life. For the better, I might add. I never realized how boring being an only child for four years of my life was.

    We’ve been together through thick and thin. Family things, school things, lasts, firsts, and everything in between. The memories we share range from sharing laughs to sharing tears.

    I’ve had your back since day one and I know you feel the same way. I would never let anyone mess with you, they’d have to go through me first.

    Baby bro, you embarrass me in front of my friends, you stare down any guy who even looks in my direction, you annoy me, you tick me off when you leave your countless sweatshirts laying around. But I love you. Yes, I know I don’t tell you that too often but I do. 

    I know I can also count on you to make me laugh. Whether it’s with your fancy dance moves or your numerous quotes from Spongebob, you never fail to put a smile on my face.

    Thank you for everything you’ve ever done for me little bro. Thanks for buying me pop when I have a headache, for letting me dress you up like a girl when we were little, for filming my first YouTube video, for watching girly movies even though I know you hate it, for making me smile, for making me laugh, for having confidence in me, for going to cheer competitions and dance recitals, for being my number one fan, for cheering the loudest, for making me laugh when I was injured. Thanks for always being able to quote Spongebob back to me and for never giving up on me. 

    Thank you baby bro,

        Your Big Sister

Leave a Reply

