January Book Recommendation

January Book Recommendation

Hey guys! I’m back again with another book recommendation!! I know you all like these and I always get likes when I post them. I’m such a nerd and literally go through books so fast it’s almost crazy. My friends always are like ‘how do you read so fast?’ or ‘didn’t you just get that book like, today?’. Yes, I know I’m a nerd and if I’m not blogging you can usually find me with my nose in a book.
Sarah Dessen is one of my all time favorite authors. I started reading her books in middle school and I’m pretty sure I’ve read every single one except Saint Anything and The Moon and More. The first book of hers that I read was Just Listen. I think I read it in like seventh grade and it pretty much became my favorite book…I think I say that about every book I recommend to you guys though.

Just Listen follows this teenage model named Annabel. She becomes an outcast after something major happens the summer before her junior year. Her “friend” Sophie gets ticked off at her about something she – Sophie – thinks happened regarding Annabel and a boy named Will. With no other friends, Annabel finds herself hanging around school bad-boy: Owen Armstrong. Owen is an outcast simply because he’s very intimidating and has anger issues. But the one thing most people don’t know about Owen is his love for music. But not like normal music, the pop, rap, and rock that we all know and love, but music that no one really knows about. Music is a big part of who Owen is and it becomes a part of Annabel too.

Just Listen is about more than romance. It puts a lot of real-world problems that teenagers deal with into perspective. Not only romance, but eating disorders, family problems, and a lot more. 

I loved this book because of the music, because of the characters, because of the drama, but also because of how realistic it is. A lot of Sarah Dessen’s books contain things that really could happen to anyone and that’s probably one of the bigger reasons she’s one of my favorite authors. I suggest reading Just Listen and I hope you love it as much as I do!
That’s all for now guys! Make sure to follow my Facebook page to stay up to date with all of my posts! Until next time lovely readers!!!

-xox, dalg98

Leave a Reply

