Pro-Life and Proud

Pro-Life and Proud

Hey guys! Welcome back to my blog!

Just a quick word before I jump into things, this post might offend people. You might not agree with my beliefs or share my point of view. But that’s not going to stop me. No one is making you read this so if you don’t like it, just read one of my other posts and ignore this one for the time being. Okay, onto the point of this post…So I thought I’d be posting this from Washington DC but things happen and I’m still in Michigan. The annual March for Life was today but unfortunately I was unable to attend due to severe weather. I was really disappointed as this would have been my fifth year going and possibly the last year that I would go with my mom as my youth leader and my best friends, but obviously God had a plan for me.

I attended my first March for Life when I was in eighth grade. At that time, I didn’t even understand what it was about or how many other people believed that life was sacred. I was hesitant to go on the trip to be completely honest because I didn’t know what to expect and I didn’t know what people would think when I told them what I was doing. But once I got there, everything changed. 

For anyone who doesn’t know, in 1973 the court case of Roe vs. Wade made abortion legal in all 50 states of the U.S. Meaning, in any state you went to, you could legally kill off the child in your womb. A lot of peope disagree with this practice of abortion. Me included. The Catholic Church teaches that life is sacred and sthere is life from the moment of conception to natural death. It’s clear that for Catholics, abortion goes against this. So we take a stand. But it’s not just Catholics that think this, you don’t have to be Catholic to go to the March and take a stand. But that’s a big reason why I go.

People from all over the world come together in Washington DC to do exactly as it sounds…march for life. There are so many people that are there and for the same reason. It’s breathtaking honestly. So can you see now why I was so upset when I found out I wasn’t going this year?

I saw this picture today on Instagram that said 1/3 of our generation is missing (@prolifeyouth). 1/3 of my generation. How crazy is that? That many babies have been aborted. That many babies that are my age: 17-18 years old. If you think about it, the babies that have been aborted could have grown up to do something life changing. To cure cancer, or bring peace to the war-torn countries of our world, or end bullying, or cured diabetes. But they never even got a chance.

When I tell people about going on this trip and participating in the March for Life, the responses are all different. It can go from ‘omg that’s so incredible and wonderful!’ to ‘why? They might not have any other choice’. What people don’t realize, is that there are other options. Okay, so let’s just say you’re a senior in high school. You have your whole life planned out and know exactly what you want to do after graduation. Yeah, you want kids, but not for a while. But…then you find out your pregnant. And you think your life is over. Trust me, it’s not. There are so many options for you and abortion shouldn’t be one. That child deserves a chance just as much as anyone else. You’re mom chose life chose life so why can’t you?
Okay, that’s all for today. I could say a lot more on the topic but then this post would be super long so I’m just going to stop here. Thanks for reading everyone!!

-xox,dalg98

Leave a Reply

