An Open Letter to my Mom on Mother’s Day

An Open Letter to my Mom on Mother’s Day

Dear Mom,

Happy Mother’s Day!! I wanted to get you something really special because you deserve the world…and then I remembered that I have no money. And that I’m not very good at talking. But I am good at writing. So, here we are.

First off, I just wanted to say thank you for literally everything. Not just the basic things like cooking for me and cleaning up the messes in our house (all the time. Though none of those messes are from me of course). But for the little things, like staying up to put in that last load of laundry when you worked all day. And running me from place to place when all you wanna do is sit on the couch and look at FaceBook. Thank you for constantly supporting me through all of my sporting events, dance recitals, and school things. Thank you for coming to football games just to watch me cheer even when it’s snowing and cold out. Thanks for buying me dance dresses all these years and paying for me to get my hair and nails done for said dances. Thank you for putting up with my moods, good and bad, even though I know sometimes you probably just want to scream and rip your hair out. Thank you for dealing with my crazy friends all these years and not getting annoyed with that really loud obnoxious one even though they’re really loud and obnoxious about 75% of the time. Thank you for never sugar coating anything and telling me if my outfit doesn’t match instead of letting me go out in public like that.

I would also like to say that not only are you my mom, you’re easily my best friend. I love the tight relationship we have, even though we get on each others nerves a lot. I love being able to talk about boys and drama with you. I love being able to sit and watch TV with you and laugh at the same dumb things Ross does on Friends. I love being able to go get coffee with you and having you yell at me when I don’t finish my coffee at Bigby. I love going on roadtrips with you, even if it’s just to the grocery store. I love how you’re the first one I tell about big things that happen and you get more excited than me about them. I love going shopping with you, even if it ends in arguments. I love doing all these things with you because you’re literally my best friend and I don’t know what I would do without you.

I also love that you take a million pictures of me even though I pretend I hate it. I love that you insist on chaperoning things like prom and homecoming and that you come to cheer camp, even though I pretend to die of embarrassment I love that you call me by my childhood nickname even though it’s kind of embarrassing. I love that you make me take pictures with random people in my grade even though I don’t talk to a lot of them. I love that I can always hear you cheering me on at competitions even though you’re always the loudest one and I can always hear you and I’m sure the rest of my team can too.

Going to college next year is going to be hard. I’m going to miss our roadtrips to concerts. I’m going to miss going to church with you. I’m going to miss watching Friends and Everybody Loves Raymond with you at eleven at night. I’m going to miss going to get coffee with you. I’m going to miss your cooking. I’m going to miss seeing you as soon as I get home every day. I’m going to miss you.

Mom, you do so much for me there’s no way I could put it all into words. I love you so much even if I don’t see it every day. I love you to the night night moon and back. I love you more than you love coffee and more than I love Austin Mahone and the beach. I love you more than Austin Mahone loves pizzza and more than Elijah loves Angry Birds. I love you more than the sun loves the sky and the stars love the moon. I love you more than any girl loves their mom.

My friends go on about how incredible their mom is and blah blah blah. But I don’t think any of them love their mom as much as I love you. And I know none of them are able to quote Friends lines to each other and jam to whatever song comes on their Pandora stations (even if it’s some rap song) together. None of them go to concerts together and enjoy the car ride there as much as seeing those famous people in person. None of them are able to have full conversations about a certain boy from Texas who sings Say Something and Mmm Yeah like he’s really their husband.

Mom, I wish I could give you the world and I hope one day I am able to be as good of a mother as you are to me and the other three. You really do deserve everything and while I wish I could give you a beach house, all I can give you this Mother’s Day is this letter. So I hope it’s good enough and reminds you how much I love you.

Love, your daughter

Leave a Reply

