An Open Letter to My Dad…Family Week: Episode 5

An Open Letter to My Dad…Family Week: Episode 5

Dear Dad,

You don’t know how long it took me to come up with these words. You don’t know how much time it took to figure the right way to express my feelings for you.

Lots of girls can post Instagram pics and Facebook posts with their dads, writing a few words or a sentance or two. But there was just no way I could put everything into one Facebook post. So here we are.

First off, thank you. For not only being my dad, but being my biggest supporter. For showing up at all my competitions you could attend and coming to football games even if you had to come in uniform. For being proud of me when I did things I didn’t think I could. For cheering me on no matter what.

Thank you for having endless faith in me no matter what. For believing in me when no one else did. For having confidence in me when I had none in myself. Thank you for teaching me that I can do anything I set my mind to. And for standing by my side through everything.

You’ve taught me so many things that I will carry with me through my life. You taught me to be a leader, not a follower. You taught me to just do me. You taught me how to protect my self. You taught me I can do anything I want. You taught me to stay strong when things get tough. You taught me that I can do anything through hard work and dedication. You taught me that people aren’t always going to like me and that’s okay.

Going to college is going to be tough for the both of us. Not being able to see each other every day is definitely going to take some getting used to. But I don’t want you to worry because no matter what, you’ll always be my dad and I couldn’t ask for a better one. I know that you’re always only a phone call away and you’ll do everything in your power to get to me as quickly as you can should I need you right away. And you know that I will call you all the time just to check in and see what’s up. (And not just when I need money)

I’m going to miss watching crime shows with you and getting sucked into them everytime we watch them. I’m going to miss talking to you and you making me laugh. I’m going to miss watching movies and just hanging out. I’m gonna miss gossiping about the idiots I used to go to school with. I’m gonna miss watching the Cowboys with you. (Even though you are always yelling at the tv as if Tony Romo can hear you calling him an idiot) I’m gonna miss cooking with you when mom has to work late and running up to you when you walk through the door after work.

I don’t tell you as much as I should, but I love you dad. I love you so freaking much. I love when you come watch me cheer. And when you watch movies with me. And when we ride in the car together. I love being your daughter. All of my friends tell me how cool my dad is but they don’t know the half of it. I think you’re the best dad in the whole world, even if I don’t tell you that all the time.

So dad, thanks for showing me what kind of guy I should want in my life. For always being there. For guiding me through the toughest spots. For teaching me important things. For being my #1 fan. I love you so incredibly much!

Love, your little girl

Leave a Reply

