My Time: Self Defense Class

My Time: Self Defense Class

Hey guys! So I wanted to do something a little different for today’s post. I’ve saw YouTube videos called ‘My First Time’ and even though it’s usually stupid things, I wanted to take my own spin on it. So today I’m gonna talk about my first time taking a self defense class.

By now I’m sure a lot of you have heard of about that college swimmer in California, Brock Turner? And you know how he sexually assulted a young woman but the judge he was in front of only gave him a six month sentance when he deserved much longer. And you know that this idiot’s dad said it was enough of a punishment for his son’s ‘twenty minutes of action’. And you know that the young lady was unconscious through this whole time he was on top of her. And thank God for those two men on their bikes who knew something was up and stopped and stepped in.

Anyways, once I read through the many articles people have written about this whole situation and I read through the victim’s letter to this college kid, it really got me thinking. I’m going to college in the fall. I’m not going to be near my police officer dad all the time and yeah if I need him he’ll be there as soon as possible, but I don’t want to be afraid something is going to happen to me. So my dad came to me the other day and was like ‘if there was a self defense class offered would you want to go?’ And I was hesitant at first, but the more I thought about it the more I wanted to do it and then when this big thing happened in Cali, I had my mind made up that I was going to take this class.

So I got to the Sheriff’s Department where the class was located yesterday with one of my close friends. We did some book work before we actually got into the physical stuff. Now my dad had taught me from a young age how to throw a punch so I knew I had that to defend myself. However, we learned a lot of important things that I know will come in handy in the future that I didn’t know. The best thing I learned was that my voice is my number one weapon. I’m a really tiny person and that puts me sort of at a disadvantage if my attacker is a male who is a lot bigger than me. But through years of cheer, I learned how to yell from my diaphragm. A scream could just be white noise to people walking by while someone’s being attacked, especially near a playground or somewhere with a lot of noise, but a yell is granted to attract attention. In addition to possibly getting someone’s attention so they can help, me yelling might throw off my attacker for a split second which gives me the time I need to get out of the situation.

In addition to learning all of these moves and things, we had simulations at the end of class to put our new skills to the test. To be honest I was kind of apprehensive for this part. There was a part of me that was like ‘I don’t want to do this. I just want to leave without putting these skills to use.’ But I’m really glad I did. One of our instructors dressed in protective gear (we did too but not as much as him) and we were given three scenarios: we were walking to our car at night, we were walking through a parking lot, and we were taking money out of an ATM. We were to put our new skills into action and get to the safe zone. Once I finished with the simulations, it really made me think ‘wow, what if that were to really happen?’

Now that the class is over, I’m so glad I got to take it. I feel a ton better about going to college in the fall knowing that I can protect myself if God forbid anything were to happen. I definitely suggest all young women take this class, or anyone really. I did my class through R.A.D – Rape Aggression Defense and they offer the classes all over, you can check them out here to find a program near you. These are skills that everyone should have because things like this can happen anywhere.
Well guys, I hope you liked this post! There will be more ‘My first time’ blogs in the future if you enjoyed this one. Feel free to leave comments either here or on my Facebook page about this post or if you have things you want to read about! A huge shoutout to the Saginaw County Sheriff’s Department for putting on this class and to my dad for convincing me to take it!

-xox, dalg98

P.S. – I did a few interviews during the class!! Check them out for a bit more information on R.A.D and what we learned!!

Leave a Reply

