Jerry the minion’s adventure – Chicago trip #2

Jerry the minion’s adventure – Chicago trip #2

What’s up guys! It’s Dallas and yes, I know that it’s Thursday and I didn’t post yesterday. I’m sorry but I seriously forgot what day it was until like a half hour ago.

So I figured today would be a good day to finally tell you about my trip to Chicago! Before I get into it I should probably give you some background. My little sister is obsessed with the minions from Despicable Me. She has three toy ones and they are her best friends. Before I left for my trip she told me to take the one she calls Jerry with me so I could document his trip. Like the good big sister I am, I did.

Chicago was so much fun and I’m glad I got to go back. I once again went with my mom and our best friends. We took the train, leaving early Friday morning so we had all of Friday to explore.

We got to the hotel and checked in. A different hotel than last time, but it was still nice. After changing out of our travel outfits, we decided to find something to eat. We went to this bar place where I got some wonderful chicken sliders. My friend thought it would be a great idea to walk to the American Girl Doll store. Unfortunately for me this did not sound fun. I never had one of those dolls growing up and never really saw the hype behind them. So after walking for what felt like hours (in the rain I might add) we finally got there only to speed through the store. Seriously we were in there for like maybe five minutes before moving on. We went to Godiva Chocolate next, but it was crazy expensive and I didn’t get anything. (I was also still cold and wet from walking in the rain because my mom insisted the Magnificent Mile wasn’t far from our hotel so we didn’t need a cab. So I was a bit grumpy as well.) Following that we did some shopping in the stores before my friend and I saw the Build-a-Bear and knew we had to go in. Yes. We are 18. Yes. We are going to college. Yes. We made bears. We also went to the Hershey chocolate store and H & M before catching a cab back to our hotel. 

The next day was my favorite day. We took a cab to a street fair – and LGBT street fair – because I wanted to see Jake Miller perform for the first time. We didn’t know it was THAT kind of street fair until we got there and even though my travel companions might not have enjoyed it, I got to see one of my favorite artists perform for the first time and I was almost close enough to touch him. I also got to cross ‘see Jake Miller perform’ off my bucket list. We went and got food after that, I got some wonderful crepes. We then started to make our way back to the hotel, walking for a big part before taking a cab. We got back to the room and I was still on my Jake Miller high, even though everyone else just wanted to chill. We went to Giordano’s for dinner which is a pizza place, but none of us got pizza. I got wings.

Sunday we were going to go to this flea market my mom found. We walked all the way there but my mom forgot to check when the market was and it didn’t even start until like, today. So we then caught another cab to the Navy Pier. We ate at Bubba Gumps for lunch which I hadn’t had since Texas two years ago. I wanted to go on the giant Ferris wheel so my mom and I went on that. It was incredible and I got to cross that off my bucket list too. We met back up with the other two and left to go to the Cheesecake Factory after that. I met a cute Corgi puppy that was very excited to see me so shoutout to the nice girl who let me pet her dog. I got s’mores cheesecake before we headed back to the hotel for the night. We ordered pizza at like ten at night because we were all hungry.

Monday we went to Starbucks becuase it was right by our hotel. We then headed to the train station to wait to go home. My friend kept pointing out cute boys to me and the best was when one sat behind us on the train home. I got more Starbucks at the train station before we left (because I’m basic) and we finally boarded the train to come back to Michigan.

I didn’t know it, but this was the last time I got to see my best friend before she left for college. But I wouldn’t have wanted to spend the weekend with anyone else. Chicago was fun as usual and I can’t wait to go back. Until then, enjoy these pictures of Jerry and I’s adventure.

Jerry, Donuts, and I on our way home, probably listening to Jake Miller
Jerry and Mom
Jerry causing trouble on the train
Jerry eating my cheesecake
Cheesecake
Jerry drinking my lemonade
Ugh Jerry
Top of the world
No caption needed
Chicago crew
Jake Miller’s drummer selfied on my phone
Jake Miller
Jake singing Selfish Girls
From left to right: Moonpie, Jerry, Donuts
Jerry at the station
My best friend and I with our Build-a-Bears
Well guys, that’s it for today! Hope you liked my post and I will talk to you all next Wednesday!!

-xox, dalg98

2 thoughts on “Jerry the minion’s adventure – Chicago trip #2

Leave a Reply

