Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

What’s up guys I’m back for your regularly scheduled blog post. I honestly had no clue what I was going to write about this week but then I got a comment on my Facebook page (click here to see that and leave me a like) from a family friend asking for a post about not stressing over little things. I can definitely relate to this on a personal level. I stress about things before there are even things to stress about. Being in college I got all the syllabus’ (is that the correct word? Syllabus’? Syllabuses? Syllabi? I don’t know) the first week and they all had a schedule of different assignments, quizzes, exams, and projects that would be due at different points during the semester. That first week of classes I was already stressing out about projects that wouldn’t even be due until the last day of class. See? I’m just one big ball of stress.

But today’s post isn’t about me and my stress. It’s about not stressing over things that don’t need to be stressed about. Okay, big projects and school stuff is probably worth sweating over, but not three months in advance. So I’ve compiled a list of things to do when you’re stressed to the max about big things and little things.

  • Take a break – sometimes all you really need to do is take a step back. Set down your schedule that’s crammed minute by minute of everything you have to get done. Take a break. Text a friend to hang out or spend time with family. It might be only for an hour or maybe five minutes or it might be for a day or two. But if you just take a minute to clear your head and breathe, you’ll realize that some of those things you think are SO important, really aren’t that important and you can move on without worrying about them.
  • Do something you love – for me, dance is my go-to stress reliever. But maybe for you it’s running or playing sports or writing or reading or watching cheesy movies for hours on end. Doing something that you absolutely love to do and absolutely makes you feel 100 times better is always a good option. It makes you smile and takes your mind off things and just makes you feel good and relaxed.
  • Talk to someone – talking about what’s going on always seems to make me feel better. I can feel like I have a million and twelve things to do but as soon as I start talking I realize I really don’t have that much going on, and even can see that I probably am worrying about nothing. I usually find myself talking to my best friend or my mom or my baby sister. But anyone who is willing to sit and listen to you rant and complain is a good option. Maybe it’s your mom, best friend, dog, a teacher, whoever you know really cares about you and wants you to be happy.
  • Listen to music while you work – I have an undeniable love for any kind of music, but recently I found a study playlist on Spotify that I now listen to all the time. It clears my head even though it’s mostly instrumental stuff. Normally I’d tune into some Jake Miller, Austin Mahone, or Jack and Jack, but I tend to get distracted by the lyrics and end up focusing more on the music than what I’m supposed to be doing. But honestly I love listening to music while trying to de-stress. It makes me calm and then I can really focus on what I’m supposed to be doing.
  • Cry – just kidding. Kind of. Sometimes you really just need to let your feelings out. As humans we tend to bottle up our emotions until we have no more room and then we kind of explode in a fit of rage or frustration. Maybe sometimes we just need to let our emotions go. Take a few deep breaths. Maybe shed some tears. But don’t let your negative emotions dictate how you handle something. You literally can get through anything, I promise. Even if it seems like it’s the biggest problem in the world, you’ll be able to find a way to work through it.
  • Take a nap – I guess this kind of goes along with the first point. But I always find that I feel better after a nap. Especially now that I’m in college I feel like naps are almost a necessity. I’m able to just let go of everything for a while and live in innocent bliss while dreaming of cute boys and puppies or whatever I dream of.

So hopefully this post helped you. I hope that you realize that stress is just a part of life and you can get through it. One last piece of advice goes with the title, don’t sweat the small stuff. All the small things (lol at my Blink-182 reference) won’t matter twenty or even ten years from now. They might seem like a big deal at the moment, but if you’re stressing about what outfit to wear to school or who to sit by in the cafeteria or about one problem on your math test, just stop. Those things won’t matter in the long run. Okay, well math is kind of important so maybe you should go see your teacher for help on that problem, but don’t let that one problem ruin your entire life.

That’s all I have for now guys, tune in next Wednesday for…..well I really don’t know what but tune it because I’m sure it’ll be great even if I once again wait until it’s 10:30 Tuesday night and once again realize I have no clue what to write about. As always follow my social media, I’ll leave my usernames at the end and make sure to give this post a like! Until next week my homies!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter: @Hey_im_Dallas
Instagram: @dallas_g98
Snapchat: dallaas74

One thought on “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

