October Book Recommendation!!!

October Book Recommendation!!!

What’s up guys I’m back!!! And yes I am once again writing this post at almost ten at night the day before it’s supposed to be posted. Hey, college is hard! I have a lot of work to do and projects to finish before I can find time to sit down and actually write this blog post!!!!

Anyways, I figured since it’s a new month I could post another book recommendation! I haven’t really had time to read much lately, other than textbooks and assigned readings for classes, but recently a book that I had planned on reading as soon as it came out finally did so of course I had to get it!

If you listen to any Christian music station, whether on Pandora or a local station or The Message on Sirius XM, you’ve probably heard of the band For King and Country. I hadn’t until I went to the National Catholic Youth Conference last year and saw them in concert. Okay, that’s not true, I had probably heard their songs before, but didn’t know who they were. For King and Country is a band that brothers Luke and Joel Smallbone from Australia formed in 2012. Once I heard them at NCYC, I was hooked. They have this song called Priceless (which you can listen to here) which is probably my favorite one. It’s centered on the idea that women are priceless and that men should stand up and proclaim that chivalry is not dead. I definitely suggest you check this song out.I saw For King and Country again in concert back in January at Winter Jam which happens in Detroit every year. That’s when I found out that the two brothers were taking their Priceless Movement one step further and actually making a movie. Which also is what the book is based on.

Priceless: She’s Worth Fighting For follows James Stevens as he goes through situations that no one should have to deal with. After losing his wife in a car crash, getting busted for selling heroin, and losing custody of his daughter, he gets a job hauling cargo from Texas to Nevada. James doesn’t know that the cargo he’s hauling actually is two young sisters from Mexico, until he nearly crashes and opens the back of the truck he’s driving to find them. James takes the two girls, Antonia and Maria, to Nevada where they think they will be working to pay off their late father’s debt to some men, but the two girls actually end up being a part of an act of sex trafficking. Scary right? James sends the two girls off, but immediately regrets it. He knows those girls and all the other women involved are worth so much more than the sleazy men behind the scheme think they are. He works with a man named Dale to get Antonia and Maria out of that situation and put an end to the head of the operation, Garo, and his plan.

As soon as I heard the song Priceless, I fell in love with For King and Country. There aren’t a lot of bands out there that focus on things like this and I wish more did. The movie comes out this weekend, the 14th in select theaters and I hope to see it soon. I really enjoyed this book and literally read it in less than two hours. I would recommend this book not only to women so they can realize their true worth, but to men as well so they know how to treat women with honor and respect and that they are queens and priceless. Even though For King and Country is a Christian band, this book doesn’t touch too much on religion, at least not as much as I thought it would, so that shouldn’t hold you back if you think that it’s just another book about faith and Jesus and being religious. The topic in this story is kind of mature though and it’s something that unfortunately happens every day.

So yes, definitely READ THIS BOOK!!! And check out For King and Country and their other music as well because their songs have some really great meaning behind them and have helped me through a lot of tough times! That’s all I have for this Wednesday! As always make sure to check out my social medias which I will post at the end of the post. If you Tweet/Snapchat/Comment (on here or my Facebook page) to me I will shout you out in the next post!!!!! Talk to you all next Wednesday!!!!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter: click here
Instagram: click here
Snapchat: dallaas74
Facebook: click here

 

Leave a Reply

