My Current Relationship Status

My Current Relationship Status

What’s up guys it’s Dallas and yes I am writing this post the night before it’s supposed to be posted once again because I suck.

So this week I want to talk about something I’m sure a lot of you are dying to know….am I in a relationship (that was a joke, most of you probably don’t care about my love life). The answer to that question is something that I think about on the daily. Something that makes me both smile and frown at least once throughout the day. And it’s a big fat no. I’m not in a relationship. I’m single as a pringle.

I’m sure this is surprising for a lot of you. I mean you’re probably thinking, ‘how is she single she’s so funny and outgoing and has a great personality!’ and ‘there’s no way she’s single, she talks about relationships all the time, she’s like a professional!!!’ I know, it’s pretty hard to believe. I mean sometimes I don’t even believe that I don’t have a significant other. That was also a joke. Kind of.

No but seriously guys, I really don’t have someone special in my life. I’ve been single forever (literally) and honestly I’m okay with that for the time being. I mean, a few years back if you asked me what my love life would look like in college, I’d probably tell you I was going to get a boyfriend, but at this point, boys are kind of the last thing on my mind.

I’m a big believer in the idea that God is saving me for someone special. I know that He has a plan for me and one day I’ll find someone and we’ll just click. It just hasn’t happened yet. I know that God is going to direct me to the right guy, he just hasn’t came into my life. Okay, we got a little religious there, back to somewhat funny Dallas.

So…single life. It’s both wonderful and depressing. On the wonderful side, I don’t have to worry about my love life and can focus on more important things, like school and getting into my career. I also don’t have to worry about looking perfect all the time. I mean I can’t imagine having a boyfriend and having to like, shave my legs all the time so I don’t scare him away. How do girls do that? However, on the depressing side, there are so many people in relationships on EMU’s campus and part of me feels like I’m missing out on something important ya know? And especially with holidays coming up, (even though I refuse to accept Christmas decorations this early in the year) I always see couples doing cute couple-y things and sometimes I just wish I had that too.

So why don’t I have a boyfriend? I feel like I hold expectations for guys way too high and always want them to fulfill the standards that guys in my fictional books do. But unfortunately, not every guy can be a Harry Potter, Tobias Eaton, or Augustus Waters.

Being single has taught me a lot of things though. Like figuring out what I want in a significant other. And how to be independent and not let someone try to control me. And how to be flirty. LOL just kidding I still haven’t gotten the hang of flirting. My idea of flirting is to be as sarcastic as I can and hope the guy I’m flirting with catches on.

Growing up I wasn’t like all the other girls in my grade. I didn’t have those short lived middle school relationships where you said ‘I love you’ after the first hour or broke up after three days. I had crushes but most of them were short lived and I moved on quickly. I didn’t fling myself onto guys and change so guys would like me. I didn’t act stupid to get a guys attention because I knew the right guy would like me for my intelligence.

Even though I was never in a relationship myself throughout high school, it seemed like I was always the person all of my friends came to for relationship advice. Which is ironic because I honestly had no clue what I was talking to but I guess it worked, whatever I had said. All of my friends were in relationships and yeah I was happy for them and I could see how happy they were, but hanging out with my friends became really hard. It seemed like every time we hung out it wasn’t just the girls, it was two girls and their boyfriends and then me. It was awkward.

What was more awkward was ALL of my friends trying to hook me up with someone ALL OF THE TIME. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my girls. But after a while it got tedious to hear ‘OMG Dallas you should date so and so!’ or ‘You and so and so would be so cute together!!’ yeah thanks guys but can you not? It also got annoying when I would like hang out with a guy JUST AS FRIENDS and the next day all of my friends would drill me with questions, like chill man it was just two friends hanging out.

You know, I grew up watching Kim Possible. And I always wanted a guy friend like Ron. But then when Kim and Ron became a thing I was kind of upset because they would never be just friends again. It really tore seven year old me up when they started dating at the end of the Kim Possible movie back in 2005. And I couldn’t imagine dating my best friend because yeah it’d be great because they knew the real me and they liked me for me, but what if we had broke up? Then what? We wouldn’t have just gone back to being best friends, it would have been awkward and made everything in school awkward. There was a time when I thought one of my best guy friends was ‘the one’ but I didn’t want to risk losing one of my best and longest friendships, so I didn’t let it happen. And if that person is reading this, I am mortified and hope I never have to see you face to face again because I would literally DIE of embarrassment.

So, being single is fun and all but it really gets me thinking. About past almost relationships and future ones and all kinds of stuff. But I’m sure one day I’ll end up happy no matter what and if I’m happy then, who cares about what happens now?

That’s all I have for you today!! Make sure to check out my social medias which will all be linked below! Until next week!!!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

snapcode
Snapchat
One thought on “My Current Relationship Status

Leave a Reply

