An Open Letter to the Ones Who made Me Who I Am

An Open Letter to the Ones Who made Me Who I Am

Dear Mom and Dad, it’s me, you’re favorite 18 year old college student. Right now at this very moment I’m waiting to go into class. My mind started to wander and suddenly I was thinking about you two.

First off, I wanted to say thank you. It’s really cliché I know, but I seriously seriously SERIOUSLY don’t know what I would do without both of you. My life would probably be really depressing and uneventful and maybe even scary. So thanks for bringing me into this world and for sticking by my side through literally EVERYTHING.

Thank you also for showing me what true love really is and what it looks like. From the both of you I have learned that not everyone is perfect, but that those imperfections just make the love and bond stronger. Thank you for being a prime example of what love means and thank you for setting an example I can base my own future relationships upon.

Thank you for never giving up on me. Even when I was being a bratty teenager, you stuck around and loved me through the days of what I consider my “overdramatic about literally everything” phase. Thank you for not letting me take the easy way out of anything and for pushing me to my limits and beyond. Thank you for always having some words of wisdom for me no matter what the situation was, if I was struggling in class, if my friends were causing drama, or even if I couldn’t decide what I wanted to eat at a restaurant.

I was going to write this letter to both of you, but now that I’ve started I’m going to break it up. I have certain things I want to say to both of you separately so here we go.

Dad, where do I start? You held me at my weakest points. When the tears were flowing and I couldn’t stop the flow. You taught me what to look for in a man. You were my first love and the one I will always have in my heart, no matter how old I get or where I end up. Dad, you know exactly how to make me laugh. You know where I am the happiest. You know exactly what to say and when to say it, even if the truth hurts. Dad, you’ve shown me the meaning of loyalty, the meaning of perseverance, and the meaning of passion. You have sacrificed so much for our family and I’m incredibly blessed to have you as my dad.

Whether we are sitting on the couch watching whatever crime show you’ve gotten me sucked into or I’m sitting in your office waiting for you to finish up work, I love every minute I get to spend with you. Proverbs 22:6 reads “Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.” From a young age you’ve always given me advice to live by and I know that I will continue following that advice for the rest of my life.

Dad, you’re my protector, my rock, my biggest cheerleader and my biggest fan. You’re my hero, my first love, my support system, and so much more. Not every girl can be so lucky to have such an amazing man in their life, but I am definitely one of the luckiest ones out there.

 

Mom. So much to say, but there’s no way I could say it all. We have our rough patches. Days where we get on each other’s nerves. Days where we tick each other off. But I think every good mother-daughter relationship has those moments.

You also were there through the toughest moments of my life. You held me while I cried. You calmed me when I felt like everything was crumbling around me. You made me smile after a rough day at school or practice. You listened to my countless dramas and let me rant whenever.

You’re way more than my mom, you’re easily my best friend. From sending me off on my first day of preschool to sending me off to my first day at college, you’ve always been there for me.

We talk about everything and anything under the sun. Boys, people we know, movies/TV shows we watched, food, music, our faith, literally everything. We talk about famous people as if we know them personally and you never say I’m crazy for coming up with scenarios where I end up marrying said famous people. (At least, you didn’t call me crazy out loud).

You taught me to reach for the stars. To never give up. That anything is possible. That I can do anything I set my mind to. You’ve helped me grow, both as a person and in my faith. You’ve shown me how to be compassionate. How to be a good friend. How to take care of the people who mean the most to me. How to cook. How to bake. How to pray. How to always put my trust in our God because he is awesome. You’ve taught me that I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

If we’re laying around drinking coffee and watching lifetime movies or going on road trips to see cute boys sing and to be tourists, every moment is always perfect. You sacrifice a lot for our family as well. Days where you don’t want to do anything but drink coffee and watch the Cooking Channel but take us to do things. Nights spent making sure we have everything ready for school even if you just worked for however many hours.

You are my cheerleader, my rock, my travel companion, my concert-going-buddy, the source of my coffee and naptime addiction, the reason I am as caring as I am, and so much more. You were there through surgeries, morning moods, firsts and lasts, hard days and good days. Everything.

 

To both of my parents. You have made me the person I am today. You taught me right from wrong, to follow my dreams, to do what makes me happy, to get back up when struggles knock me down, to aim for the moon, to be myself, to be caring, to stand up for those who need it, to stand up for myself, to be open-minded, to try new things, to step out of my comfort zone, to love, to be strong even when it feels like everything else is falling apart, to believe in myself, to be a leader not a follower, and probably a lot more things that I can’t think of right now.

Thank you for your everlasting love. For always being my shoulder to cry on. For pushing me to my limits and further. For teaching me all these things. For having patience with me. For believing in me when I didn’t believe in myself.

I love you both more than words can ever even come close to describing.

Love, your little girl

One thought on “An Open Letter to the Ones Who made Me Who I Am

Leave a Reply

