First Book Recommendation of the New Year!!!!

First Book Recommendation of the New Year!!!!

What’s up guys I’m back! I’m sitting in class right now but finished our quiz thing really early and so I thought I would start a new blog post!!!

Now that it’s the new year (and the month is almost over) it’s time for another book recommendation! Hooray!! (Sidenote: why do I always wait until the end of the month to write these posts? My life would be a lot simpler if I wrote them earlier…maybe one day I’ll learn….)

So I’ve sort of stepped back from my usual YA books. Away from the teen romance and drama and fiction. Recently I’ve sort of gotten into reading more non-fiction stuff, mostly biographies and memoirs. I think it sort of started when I read Connor Franta’s book A Work in Progress a while ago (and yes I wrote a blog about it. Click right here to read that one). And then more recently I read Simone Biles’ book (and I wrote about it last month so you can also read that one by clicking here).

Anyways, back to the point of this blog post. I found a link on Twitter the other day and through this ebook site called Glose where I could get a free book download in honor of the Women’s March that just happened in D.C. So I clicked and found this months featured book.

The Girl Who Escaped ISIS, by Farida Khalaf. The book follows Khalaf, a 19-year-old girl at the start of the book. She was captured by ISIS and sold into slavery with many other young girls. She lived in the Yazidi village of Kocho which is in northern Iraq. But when the war started, her life pretty much got flipped upside down. Everything was okay at first. And then ISIS invaded her home village. At first the village were just surrounded and ISIS demanded that everyone convert to Muslim. And then on August 15th, 2014, the villagers were commanded to go to the school building. Bringing all of their valuables. The women and children were separated from the men, meaning Farida had to depart from her father and two older brothers, Serhad and Delan. Farida was soon separated from her mother as well, led into the schoolyard with other girls of her age. They were taken to be sold on the slave market.

Farida along with many other girls were sent from man to man. They were abused, both sexually and physically but they never lost hope. They looked for any chance they could to escape and finally that day came. On December 13, 2014, almost four months after being captured she and five other girls escaped from the ISIS camp they were imprisoned in.

 

I won’t lie, this book definitely brought on some tears. The courage that those girls had to risk their lives and escape that horrible situation they were in is incredible, at least to me. The Girl Who Escaped ISIS is such an inspiring story and shows how hope can take you a long way. It’s so different than anything I’ve ever read but I loved every second of it. I definitely recommend you read this book if you haven’t already!

That’s all I have for you guys today! I hope you enjoyed this blog and as always follow my social media to keep up with me and while you’re at it, go check out my music blog! So far I have one follower, but you should all go follow it because it will make me happy! Until next time lovelies!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Music Blog

snapcode

Leave a Reply

