February Book Recommendation (Yes I know it’s March now) – 40 days of blogs #1

February Book Recommendation (Yes I know it’s March now) – 40 days of blogs #1

What’s up guys I’m back! I know it’s officially the start of a new month and I know I didn’t post a book recommendation last month….sue me. But you’ll get two this month so hooray for you!!!

*Sidenote* So if you didn’t know, I’m a devoted Catholic, and today is the start of the Lenten season. For me and my fellow Catholic peeps, it means 40 days of challenge/sacrifice. Usually I’d give up sweets or pop or TV, but I don’t eat a whole lot of sweets, barely drink pop anymore, and I don’t ever watch TV…..so I had to come up with something different. One part of my journey this year for Lent is to write a letter each day to someone different. And then I thought about my blog so 40 days of blog posts, here I come! I hope you enjoy and keep up with all of the upcoming posts even though I have no idea what most of them are yet.

 

So I won’t lie, I haven’t been reading a whole lot. I re-read The Fault in our Stars the other day, but nothing new has popped up. That’s what sucks about college, I feel like all I’m reading is textbooks and handouts and since I’m a journalism major, news stories.

HOWEVER. Do not fear dear readers, because I am taking Global Children’s Literature this semester and we do not read boring ole textbooks in that class. We read books from all over the world about all different issues people in those places face.

Recently, our class read Child Soldier, When Boys and Girls Are Used in War by Jessica Dee Humphreys and Michel Chikwanine. The story follows Michel’s journey as he is captured by rebel soldiers at the young age of five. He’s forced to be part of the rebel militia and his initiation tasks is for him to kill one of his best friends.

Michel goes through a couple weeks of ‘training’ and then one day he and the other captured kids are given their first mission: to take over a village. Michel somehow manages to get away and after three days arrives at a town near where he is from. He is soon reunited with his family.

Michel’s parents tell him not to talk about anything he went through with anyone. Not even them (the parents). Obviously they were trying to protect him, but without being able to talk about his traumatic experience, Michel was unable to return back to how he was before being kidnapped. He didn’t want to play with the other children, kids bullied his sisters which caused him to get angry and violent, he was confused and sad. Michel’s dad sent him to live with his aunt to give him a break, but it didn’t really help.

When Michel was ten, his father was kidnapped and tortured for trying to put a stop to what happened to Michel. His father escaped, but the rebel soldiers came looking for him. They destroyed all of his fathers hard work and in fear, Michel, his mother, and his youngest sister fled to a refugee camp where they met up with Michel’s father.

Six years later, Michel and his mother and youngest sister moved to Canada. Only one of his two older sisters joined them. His father never made it either.

Michel shares his story for so many people and is working with a movement to save children from the risk of being kidnapped and forced into war.

 

This book is so powerful and opens readers’ eyes to a very real problem. Children in other parts of the world are forced into war, to be soldiers at such a young age.  If you want to learn more about this issue, I suggest checking out the Child Soldiers International website.

This book is written for kids, but I think it’s really important for adults to read as well. In class we talked a lot about why it’s important to have books about issues like this written for kids. Yeah, it educates children at a young age that not every child has a happy childhood, but it also educates the parents who read these books to their kids about what’s happening in other parts of the world.

 

That’s all I have for you guys today but tune in tomorrow for ANOTHER post!! I really hope I can post every day and I’m really going to work hard to stick to this. If you have any ideas for blogs that you want to see, make sure to let me know either here, on my Twitter, or on my Facebook page! Also feel free to add me on Snapchat: dallaas74 and hit up my Instagram and second music blog.

Until tomorrow lovely readers!!

-xox, dalg98

One thought on “February Book Recommendation (Yes I know it’s March now) – 40 days of blogs #1

Leave a Reply

