Life of an Insomniac – 40 Days of Blogs #2

Life of an Insomniac – 40 Days of Blogs #2

What is up everybody?? I’m Dallas and I’ll be your blogger today. (Well, and every other day….actually I’m your only blogger for this site….)

Told you I’d be back today didn’t I? Bet you thought I wasn’t serious with that whole ’40 Days of Blog Posts’ thing did you? HA. JOKES ON YOU!!!!

 

So starting my junior year of high school (I think) I started having sleeping problems. Back then I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep until the early hours of the morning and that was when I had to get up at 6:30 for school (little sidenote, how did I ever manage to do that? I can barely get up at 8:30 now for my college classes). I’d be tired all day long and if you know me at all, you know that I get cranky when I’m tired.

I never napped in high school so I wasn’t sure why I was never able to fall asleep. Even after hours of cheer practice, which one would think would take everything out of me, I would still be wide awake until three or four in the morning. That’s when I really got into watching YouTube because I figured if I wasn’t going to sleep I might as well laugh at cute boys. (I know what you’re thinking: ‘Dallas maybe if you weren’t on your phone you would be able to sleep!’ Don’t you think I tried that? I tried everything.)

Now that I’m in college, my sleeping issues are even more screwed up. Some nights I’ll be awake until five or six in the morning and have to be up at eight. Some nights I’ll have no problem falling asleep but suddenly I’ll start to have a sort of panic attack type thing. My breathing gets really fast and my heart starts racing and I wake up in a panicky feeling like I’m falling off a tall building or something (is that what a panic attack feels like? I’ve never had one while awake so I’m not sure). And then other nights I sleep but toss and turn a lot and the next day I feel as if I haven’t slept at all.

I’ve literally tried everything to help my sleep. Melatonin, breathing techniques, yoga before bed, exercising two hours before, no coffee or pop all day, no naps, relaxing music,  you name it, I’ve probably tried it.

So what do I do on these nights where I don’t sleep? Some nights I listen to music, Maroon 5, John Mayer, James Bay; you can check out my LATE NIGHTS playlist on Spotify right here. Other nights I watch YouTube (which is why I watched all of David Dobrik’s vlogs in the span of like two weeks). I imagine scenarios that will never ever happen, like Spencer Sutherland realizing his true love for me or meeting celebrities in random places. I write, in my journal or for a blog. I stalk people on Twitter and Instagram. I remember funny things that make me laugh and then I’m laughing like a crazy person until five in the morning. I read news articles via Twitter. And when all else fails I watch more YouTube.

The life of an insomniac sucks most of the time, but some nights I am able to be super productive and get blog posts done and homework finished. The thing that really annoys me is when I hear people complaining about not getting to bed until midnight because I would honestly love to be sleeping by then.

 

Was this post boring? I feel like it might be and no one really cares about the fact that I don’t sleep…but maybe it’s interesting? I just had this in my drafts and I’m not sure where I thought I would take it but here we are. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this post and maybe found it interesting/entertaining? If you have any blogs that you want to see or things you want me to write about let me know! As always, make sure to follow all of my social media accounts, they will be linked below! Until tomorrow fam!

-xox, dalg98

Twitter #1
Twitter #2
Facebook
Instagram
Just Music Life
Snapchat
snapcode

Leave a Reply

