Advice from a college freshman – 40 Days of Blogs #40

Advice from a college freshman – 40 Days of Blogs #40

What’s up guys? I’m back with a post that I hope is good and entertaining. My writer’s block is slowly but surely starting to clear up so (fingers crossed) hopefully I will have some good content to finish out this daily blogging thing!

Now that I am in the homestretch of my first year as an Eastern Michigan University Eagle and the year is coming to a close, I feel like I can give some very worldly advice to incoming freshman. Well….in my own world anyways. I figured that I learned so much beyond the classroom and that it was necessary to share these things with you all. So I’m going to shut up now, stop blabbering, and give you some advice should you be going in to college any time soon. ENJOY!!

  • Bring a decent fan – if you live in a dorm, more than likely it won’t be air conditioned. And if you’re like me, you have waited until the last second to do your housing application for your first year and are stuck in the very last room on the very top floor. Four floors doesn’t seem that bad until its 80 something degrees out and heat rises and the elevator is down so you have to take the stairs. Trust me, you’ll want a good fan. I had this itty bitty little one that did virtually nothing for me. And I hate being hot when I’m trying to sleep so I barely got any good sleep those first few weeks on campus.
  • Join a club – do you know how many times my mom told me this? Do you know how many times I rolled my eyes when she told me this?? Now that I’m looking back, I don’t know how I would have made it through without the friends I have made from the clubs I have joined. It’s a great way to get out of my dorm room every once in a while and an even greater way to make some friends on campus.
  • Don’t take 17 credits at once – unless you are a pro at dealing with stress. I did this exact thing for my winter semester and it sucked. I don’t think I’ve ever been so busy in my life or have spent so much time in the library as I did this semester. But on the plus side, I have over 30 credits done already and I’m only a freshman.
  • Don’t forget to eat – it’s probably not a good thing how many times this has happened to me. When I’m stressed out I don’t eat though and I get stressed a lot. (My parents are going to read this and flip out I can already tell you) So make sure you’re at least getting snacks in so you don’t get hangry like I do.
  • Take risks! – I’m not saying go jump off a building or something, but step out of your comfort zone. I have yet to really do this, but it’ll happen. I’ve been working up the nerve to ask a cute boy to go to church with me sometime, but haven’t saw him in a while…
  • Don’t procrastinate – this is a big problem for me, something that I have always struggled with. In high school, procrastination didn’t really affect me, I didn’t get as stressed about assignments as I do now. But now I really do try to get assignments done as quickly as I can because I don’t want to have a mental breakdown at 11 pm the night before it’s due.
  • Have fun!!! – don’t make everything about school. Go to sporting events, hang out with friends, college doesn’t have to be another four years of hell. It can be a great time! High school sucked for me honestly, but I’m having so much fun here and feel happy to actually be in school (who knew right??).

Okay, that’s all I have for tonight! I hope you enjoyed this post and that my advice helped you!! Until tomorrow!

-xox, dallas

 

Leave a Reply

