You’re a good good father – 40 Days of Blogs – 40 Days of Blogs #41

You’re a good good father – 40 Days of Blogs – 40 Days of Blogs #41

What’s up guys it’s your favorite Catholic chick back at it with a new blog post!

The Holy Spirit has really been working through me these past few days and I’ve felt this nagging urge to blog about it. You know like, when your mom tells you a million times to clean your room and finally you’re just like ‘okay okay I get it I’ll go!’, yeah that’s me tonight.

I went to Adoration today and even though I’ve been super stressed recently with the end of the semester coming up, I just felt at peace while I was there, even if it was just for a short time.

As kids, when we have a bad day we look to our parents for comfort. We look to mom and dad to hug us and remind us that we will get through whatever it is we are struggling with. Well, when you’re miles away from your parents, it’s kinda hard for a stressed college student to feel that comfort and safety from her parents. Sure, FaceTimes are great and phone calls are wonderful, but there’s something special about that physical feeling of safety that comes with a hug from mom or dad.

Today in Adoration, I felt that feeling. It was like Jesus knew how stressed I was and how freaked out I am about all of these projects that are coming up and finals and everything else and wrapped His arms around me. I felt so warm and tingly inside and I left with a huge smile on my face.

When I walked in to Adoration and took a seat, the lyrics to Good Good Father by Chris Tomlin started floating around in my head. The whole time I was sitting on the floor staring at Jesus in front of me, all I could think was ‘you’re a good good father, it’s who you are. It’s who you are. It’s who you are. And I’m loved by you, it’s who I am, it’s who I am. It’s who I am.’

When I left Adoration to head back to my dorm to tackle a workout and homework, that song started playing randomly on my Worship and Praise playlist on Spotify. At first I was like, wow how weird, but then I thought ‘okay yeah. I knew You were there and I wasn’t imagining the feeling.’

It seems like every time I’m going through something, the Lord speaks to me through music. When I’m feeling insecure about myself, Priceless by For King and Country comes on. When I’m having a rough day, Lord I Need You by Matt Maher comes on. When I need a reminder of how I’ve been blessed by the Holy Spirit, Holy Spirit by Francesca Battistelli comes on. Music is my favorite thing in the world and that’s how my God speaks to me.

I’ve been having a lot of these ‘coincidences’ or ‘breakthroughs’ or whatever you want to call them lately. First, the story of the woman at the well in John 4:1-42 has popped up more times than I can count. I’ve been praying with it to see if I can figure out what that means. Now this Chris Tomlin song, which just popped up again when I watch Simone Biles’ dance from yesterday’s episode of Dancing With the Stars. There are probably others but those are the two that are sticking out to me a lot.

Since coming to college, I’ve grown so much in my faith and I wouldn’t want to change anything about it. I’ve learned so much through bible study and all of these Catholic events and just talking to other people about it all. While some people grow in their social skills, I’m growing in my Catholic skills I guess you could say. I love it.

As I write this blog post, three things have happened. 1. Good Good Father has played twice more since I got back to my room. 2. The giant smile hasn’t left my face since leaving Adoration two hours ago. 3. My writer’s block has obviously cleared up. I guess I just had to talk about Jesus huh?

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this post and if you didn’t because you don’t like my Catholic posts, oh well. It made me smile and is probably one of my favorite posts I’ve ever written. I am  really putting this gift of writing that I have been blessed with to use when I write these kinds of posts so there are definitely going to be more of them. But that’s all I have for tonight so I will talk to you guys tomorrow!

-xox, dallas

Leave a Reply

