10 reasons why it’s important to have a good relationship with your parents

10 reasons why it’s important to have a good relationship with your parents

What’s up guys? I’m back with your regularly scheduled Wednesday blog post! I hope you all enjoyed my 40 Days of Blogs series, even if some of them were boring. I had fun writing them all and am very proud of myself for not giving up, even when writer’s block hit.

Today I thought I’d talk about a couple of people very near and dear to my heart: my parents. The two most important people in my life. The two people who love me no matter how annoying I get or how many mistakes I make. The two people who gave me life and since 1998 have given me everything I could ever need/want.

Growing up, I had friends who weren’t as close to their parents as I was. I had friends who were disrespectful to their parents, who talked back, who openly disobeyed the rules, and I always thought it was crazy that they acted like that. I’m sure those friends thought I was the crazy one though, a girl who never breaks the rules? Who listens to her parent’s every word, even if it’s outrageous?? Insane!

However, I can’t imagine the type of person I would be if I hadn’t listened to my parents growing up and if I decided to be a rebel and not follow their rules. I definitely wouldn’t be where I am today without them.

Without any more blabbering and rambling from me, here are 10 reasons why it’s MAJORLY important to have a good relationship with your parents, or grandparents, or whoever raised you.

  1. They will always believe in you – no matter where you go or what you do, they will never give up on you.
  2. They will always know when something is up – there’s no sense in trying to hide something because they’ll just be able to tell. It’s one of those scary but cool things parents know how to do.
  3. They care more about you than anyone else ever will – and they love you to the end of the world and back.
  4. They’re pretty much stuck with you – no matter how hard you try, you can’t get rid of them, but that’s okay. Other people come and go but parents are forever.
  5. They will never tell you that you cannot do something – even if that something is totally and completely insane.
  6. They accept you, flaws and all – ’nuff said.
  7. They will have confidence in you, when you have none in yourself – when you’re feeling your lowest, and like you can’t do anything right, they will be right there to life you up and remind you that you can.
  8. They know when you need to work things out on your own – and even though it pains them to not take care of all of your issues for you, they step back and therefore allow you to grow.
  9. They will provide you with important (and sometimes not so important) life lessons that you will carry with you forever – for example, my dad has taught me to be a leader not a follower; my mom has taught me that coffee is always a necessity and that a nap is always a good idea. Two very different ideas, but also things that I live by.
  10. You probably wouldn’t survive a single day without them – do I even need to explain this one? I can’t even go a day without texting my mom, I can’t imagine complete radio silence. After all, who would send me pictures of Zac Efron when I’m having a bad day??

Well guys, that’s really all I have for today. I have been truly blessed with the best. My parents honestly are the most important people in my life and I can’t imagine life without them.

Feel free to share this post with your own parents! Until tomorrow my lovely readers!!!!!!

-xox, dallas

One thought on “10 reasons why it’s important to have a good relationship with your parents

Leave a Reply

